So recently, I found myself on the end of heartbreak with my partner and I splitting up. After almost 3 years together, I took the breakup extremely badly and found myself being  a complete zombie! So after a week or two of complete moping, I shook myself and got on with life! And here are some of the things I done and focused my energy on to get back on with life.

Dont Slander On Social Media

Whatever you do, do not say anything on your Facebook or Twitter that you are going to regret or someone is going to screenshot and discuss in the lads chat. Stay dignified. Its hard but empowering when you see other ex couples going at it on Facebook for everyone to see. If you have to get something out, I personally recommend perhaps a cryptic quote. You are directly saying anything but it feels good sometimes! Avoid tweets with swearing and calling your ex every name under the sun. Text you girls for this type of therapy.

Revenge Body

To thank Khloe Kardashian, I truly believe getting in the “Revenge Body” mode, started my post breakup recovery. Its sad but true – I wanted my ex the next time to see me to complete kick himself for ever letting me go! So I hit the gym and it honestly is the best, whilst also being the most healthiest, form of realise! You’re getting hot and letting out emotion be it on the treadmill, taking a class or bashing it out with a punch bag!

Glam up!

Get out the post breakup pjs and get dressed up! This is even better if you started working on your “Revenge Body” – everything fits so much better!! Make yourself feel good. Go get a tan, your nails done, teeth whitened, fix your roots or change your hairstyle completely. Do something to make yourself feel pretty! Looking good on the outside can start making you feel better on the inside.

Girls Night

So you’ve been hitting the gym, you are now looking fresh and revived – it is time to call the girls. Be it your best friend for cocktails or your squad for a night out dancing, get out for some R&R with your ladies! Get yourself out and enjoy yourself. Put your favourite dress up, bit of make up and go enjoy some music over french martinis! Also, as tempting as it may be, go somewhere that you know your ex doesn’t go. Show off your new lease off life! And don’t forget – get a cracking photo for your Instagram the next day!! Girls night will allow you to get your giggle on and be around people you feel safe with.

Meet New People

I am not saying jump on tinder and find a new man!! At one point I was ready to potentially drop whatever I was holding on the next person that suggested I should get a new man and get on tinder! What I mean here is, go places you don’t usually go or attend a class that you have never been before. Get chatty and make new friends. You might be surprised at the cool people you meet. People that fill a void and who you focus your attention on instead of giving it to someone who doesn’t deserve it. I’ve now got a whole new social circle of these amazing, wonderful people!

Stay Busy

I found, especially at the beginning, the second I was alone in my room bored, Id find myself on my ex’s Instagram… and Twitter..Facebook too! Its a bit stalkerish I know! But we all do it! So try and keep yourself busy at all cost! Make sure when its bed time you are so tired from an awesome day, you turn a movie on and fall asleep right away! My wardrobe was re-organised about 789 times and I have re-read all the Harry Potter books.

Dont Beat Yourself Up

If you happen to have a weak moment and message your ex, don’t beat yourself up. It happens. Missing people, especially someone you love and shared your intimate life with, is hard work. Of course it happens. If it does, feel the emotion, embrace it and then move on from the situation.

Soon enough by doing these thing, it stop being about doing it to show that I am okay, showing my ex what he was missing. It became about me and how proud of myself I was for being able to pick my life back up and making a new better one. Everyone deals with breakups differently. Feel it, grieve it and move the feck on because if I have learned anything out of the past few months of my life it is – if its for you it won’t pass you!

It can only get better, promise.

xo

